June 2007 - Contact from another Ex Member Mr. Peter Rolfe an ex Flt/Sgt of 485 Squadron at the unit between April 1941 to August 1944.


485 squadron at the Blue Coat School HQ

March 2008 - More information thanks to Ex Flt/Sgt Roger.J.Burgess 485 Sqn a member of the Sqn from 1956 until 1959.

485 Squadron HQ was at Tennal Grange in two long old wooden huts raised from the ground by masonry bricks - some considerable time before I joined it in 1956.

Hut 1 was the main parade hut,and contained a small canteen at the far end,with a small uniform store next to it. There was also a three quarter length snooker table positioned in front of the same, on which many a good break was made by myself and Cadet David A.JONES. (15years) David was tragically killed whilst cycling down Mucklows Hill on his way to School. The whole Sqdn turned out for his funeral,to take David on his final journey.(He really was a very popular young chap - liked by all on the Sqdn)

Hut 2 contained two class rooms, the C,O's office, a 'Morse Signal/operation room. and at the far end a Link Trainer room. I remember a Summer Camp 27th July to 3rd August 1957 at R.A.F. Hendon. The C.O.'s name - I cannot recall. A second Summer Camp 1958 at R.A.F.Chivenor. Our C.O. at this time was Flt Lt Tony WICKHAM.

The Squadron was formed early in 1941 and based its headquarters at the High Street School in Harborne. The first Commanding Officer was Flt Lt A H Dutton RAFVR(T). His Adjutant was Fg Off K Jackson RAFVR(T).  When the time came for reorganization of the units in the Wing the Squadron was amalgamated with No 486 (Quinton) Squadron and was re-designated as No 485 (Harborne & Quinton) Squadron. In 1962 the Squadron moved to the TA Centre, at Tennal Grange, Tennal Road, Harborne.

In later years the Squadron secured the services of an excellent radio officer in WO P Short and it was only natural that they should become heavily involved in Radio. They still have an extremely good communication `set-up' as well as a new Flight simulator, which has replaced the old simulator of a Canberra.

Unit activities included the Duke of Edinburgh Award Scheme, sport in which they have several `Blues' at both Wing and Regional level and shooting. They won the Collins Trophy three years running - 1988 to 1990. Support was always given to the local community, helping the Central Branch of the Royal Air Forces Association and the Royal British Legion. They have also taken part in a sponsored twenty four hour drill competition to raise money for charity.
During 1990 they helped the local police to clean the War Memorial in Harborne as part of this community support.

The present accommodation comprises a `Spooner' hut for administration and classroom work which was extended in May 2001, now also contains the radio room and simulator room. In the main building there is a wooden propeller (origin unknown) and a plaque dedicated to the memory of past members of Nos 485 and 486 Squadrons who gave their lives in the Second World War.

There is a further plaque dedicated to the memory of a former cadet CWO Mark Drewell. He was killed in a car accident in 1986 when serving with the Royal Air Force Regiment.

In September 2015 the squadron replaced its aged minibus with the support from the Royal Air Force Charitable Trust, the civilian committee, submitted a bid to the charity for funding a new minibus to help provide ongoing transportation for cadet activities. In May 2015 we were visited by a RAFCT trustee, Mr. Smith. The trust later approved a grant towards a nearly new bus, which was purchased and delivered in the September 2015.

The motto of the Squadron is "Non Sine Pulvere Palma" which translated means "No success without effort"


Commanding Officers:

1941-1965 Flt Lt A. H. Dutton RAFVR(T) 

1965-1968 Flt Lt W. Ogborne RAFVR(T) 

1968-1969 Flt Lt J. Muldoon RAFVR(T) 

1969-1976 Flt Lt K. Blunn RAFVR(T)

1976-1979 Flt Lt B. Barnes RAFVR(T) 

1979-1983 Flt Lt P. G. Clarke RAFVR(T) 

1983-1996 Flt Lt A. Healey RAFVR(T) 

1996-2001 Flt Lt C. G. Bell RAFVR(T) 

2001- 2004 Flt Lt P. Smith RAFVR(T)

2004 -  May 2011 Flt Lt P. Coates RAFVR(T)

May 2011 - Aug 2013 Flt Lt S. Jennings RAFVR(T)

Sept 2013 - Dec 2015 WO R. Coates ATC

Jan 2016 - Present  Flt Lt K. Aldridge RAFVR(T)